Connect with us

Crum Crum will lead the field to the green flag in Saturday’s ValleyStar Credit Union 300 after inheriting the pole following post-qualifying technical inspection.

The times for Jeff Oakley and Deac McCaskill, who qualified first and second respectively, were disallowed following inspection. Race director Lynn Carroll said Oakley was disqualified for having a spacer plate under the carburetor while McCaskill had an issue with the squirters on his carburetor.

Crum, who won the 2009 ValleyStar Credit Union 300, said in a press conference that he was excited to lead the field to the green flag in the first primetime Late Model Stock Car race at Martinsville Speedway.

“It means a lot,” Crum said. “It means a lot for everybody that has put a lot of work into this. It’s just an honor to be the first one under the lights here. Hopefully we can bring home a win.”

READ MORE: Complete Martinsville coverage

Stacy Puryear will start on the outside of the front row. As a result of moving up to the front row, neither Puryear or Crum will have to race their way in during heat races.

“It’s pretty amazing,” Puryear said. “We were excited to qualify fourth. To be on the front row and not have to run the heat race, I’m pretty excited. I knew we had a good car in practice today. Just still pretty amazed that we’re here.”

Two-time Martinsville winner Tommy Lemons, Jr. will start on the pole in the first heat race while 2016 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion Matt Bowling will start on the pole for the second heat race and two-time Martinsville winner and newly crowned four-time national champion Lee Pulliam will start on the point in the third heat race.

The heat races, which will run for 25 laps each, will commence at 4pm EST on Saturday, which will be followed by a last chance qualifying race. 10 cars will transfer in from each qualifier. The 200-lap main event will go green at 8pm EST.

The complete results from qualifying can be found below.

  1. Jake Crum 20.414 (Ford Crate)
  2. Stacy Puryear 20.417 (Ford Crate)
  3. Tommy Lemons, Jr. 20.422 (Chevy Built)
  4. Matt Bowling 20.435 (Chevy Built)
  5. Lee Pulliam 20.438 (Chevy Built)
  6. Trevor Noles 20.439 (Chevy Built)
  7. Philip Morris 20.450 (Chevy Built)
  8. Bobby McCarty 20.453 (Chevy Built)
  9. Timothy Peters 20.454 (Chevy Built)
  10. Peyton Sellers 20.459 (Chevy Built)
  11. C.E. Falk 20.460 (Ford Crate)
  12. Dennis Holdren 20.466 (Ford Crate)
  13. Eddie Johnson 20.475 (Ford Crate)
  14. Justin Johnson 20.482 (Chevy Built)
  15. Josh Berry 20.489 (Chevy Built)
  16. Ryan Repko 20.506 (Ford Crate)
  17. Brenden Queen 20.518 (Ford Crate)
  18. Mike Darne 20.521 (Ford Crate)
  19. Robert Powell 20.521 (Chevy Built)
  20. Mike Looney 20.522 (Ford Crate)
  21. Jamey Caudill 20.524 (Ford Crate)
  22. Justin Snow 20.528 (Chevy Built)
  23. Greyson Cullather 20.530 (Chevy Crate)
  24. Kres VanDyke 20.530 (Ford Crate)
  25. Mason Diaz 20.530 (Ford Built)
  26. Travis Swaim 20.557 (Ford Crate)
  27. Trevor Ward 20.574 (Chevy Built)
  28. Blake Stallings 20.575 (Chevy Built)
  29. Ty Gibbs 20.575 (Ford Crate)
  30. Jason York 20.596 (Ford Crate)
  31. Mark Wertz 20.596 (Chevy Built)
  32. R.D. Smith 20.611 (Chevy Built)
  33. Justin Hicks 20.611 (Ford Crate)
  34. Myatt Snider 20.614 (Chevy Built)
  35. Danny Edwards 20.619 (Chevy Built)
  36. Davin Scites 20.625 (Chevy Built)
  37. Jimmy Mullins 20.626 (Chevy Built)
  38. Ronnie McCarty 20.642 (Chevy Built)
  39. Macy Causey 20.650 (Chevy Built)
  40. Derrick Lancaster 20.650 (Chevy Built)
  41. Annabeth Crum 20.652 (Ford Crate)
  42. Timmy Phipps 20.662 (Chevy Built)
  43. Bruce Anderson 20.667 (Chevy Built)
  44. Tyler Matthews 20.668 (Chevy Built)
  45. Barry Beggarly 20.673 (Chevy Built)
  46. Brandon Pierce 20.676 (Ford Crate)
  47. Bryan Reedy 20.691 (Chevy Built)
  48. Jimmy Mullins 20.695 (Chevy Built)
  49. Austin Thaxton 20.708 (Ford Crate)
  50. Nick Smith 20.708 (Chevy Built)
  51. Jamie Sweeny 20.729 (Chevy Built)
  52. Jamie Byrd 20.738 (Chevy Built)
  53. Justin Crider 20.742 (Ford Crate)
  54. Ryan Wilson 20.744 (Ford Crate)
  55. Chris Chapman 20.748 (Ford Crate)
  56. Terry Carroll 20.766 (Ford Crate)
  57. Jared Fryar 20.770 (Ford Crate)
  58. Brad Kurth 20.775 (Chevy Built)
  59. Thomas Scott 20.780 (Chevy Built)
  60. Casey Wyatt 20.781 (Chevy Built)
  61. Dean Ward 20.785 (Ford Crate)
  62. Coy Beard 20.804 (Ford Crate)
  63. Justin S. Carroll (VA) 20.811
  64. Jacob Heafner 20.811 (Ford Crate)
  65. Colin Garrett 20.812 (Ford Crate)
  66. Scott Lancaster 20.850 (Chevy Built)
  67. Haley Moody 20.857 (Chevy Built)
  68. Matt Leicht 20.864 (Ford Crate)
  69. John Moore 20.883 (Chevy Built)
  70. Cameron Bowen 20.934 (Ford Crate)
  71. Adam Gray 20.937 (Chevy Built)
  72. Owen Smith 20.946 (Chevy Built)
  73. Jason Barnes 20.981 (Ford Built)
  74. Mason Bailey 20.984 (Chevy Built)
  75. Jimmy Wallace 21.017 (Chevy Built)
  76. Bobby Gillespie 21.026 (Chevy Built)
  77. Tommy Neal 21.038 (Chevy Built)
  78. Kevin Neal 21.080 (Ford Crate)
  79. Ryan Gray 21.143 (Chevy Built)
  80. Craig Eastep 21.166 (Chevy Built)
  81. Ricky Gillespie 21.282 (Ford Crate)
  82. Larry Barrett 21.299 (Chevy Built)
  83. Jeff Oakley DQ
  84. Deac McCaskill DQ

Read more Short Track Scene:

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Marquis comes from St. Charles, Maryland and has a widespread background in journalism, having covered politics in Washington and Maryland as well as nearly every form of auto racing, including NASCAR, IndyCar, AMA Motocross and IHRA Drag Racing. Now living near Emerald Isle, North Carolina, Marquis covers Late Model Stock Cars and Super Late Models in the Carolinas and Virginia.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Late Model Stock Cars