Connect with us

Earlier this season, Bobby Santos used the bottom groove en route to a victory at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. Saturday, Santos used that same groove en route to winning once again.

The victory allowed Santos to sweep the two NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour races at the 1.058-mile oval for the 2017 season. It was his 16th career overall on the Tour for Santos and the third at the ‘Magic Mile’ of NHMS.

“We learned a lot in the All-Star race (in July) that I think helped us win this race today,” Santos said. “This is the race track when it comes to the modifieds. This is what everyone shoots for. This is our Super Bowl. It means everything to win here.”

Much like he did in July, the Franklin, Mass. driver found the bottom groove had the most grip on the track in the final circuits. Santos took the lead on lap 90 for the first time in Saturday’s F.W. Webb 100, but lost the lead to Patrick Emerling on lap 96. He took his No. 44 Sully Tinio/Brendan Kelley Music Chevrolet back to the front on lap 97 and wasn’t challenged back to the checkered flag in the final three circuits.

The 32-year-old captured his 16th career victory in his 131st career Whelen Modified Tour starts. He crossed the line 0.610 seconds ahead of Rowan Pennink. Behind Pennink, Patrick Emerling finished third after leading seven laps. Donny Lia and Justin Bonsignore rounded out the top five.

With his fifth place finish, Bonsignore positioned himself second in the standings. Four-time series champion Doug Coby, who led a race-high 64 laps, finished 15th, but will lead the points by 11 points over Bonsignore. Timmy Solomito is third in the standings, 14 off the lead. Ryan Preece, who entered the race as the points leader, missed the event and leaves New Hampshire fifth in the championship standings.

Eric Goodale finished sixth, while Ron Silk, Woody Pitkat, Ryan Newman and Anthony Nocella finished the top 10.

The F.W. Webb 100 at New Hampshire will air on NBCSN Thursday, Sept. 28th at 7 p.m.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to the track next weekend, with the running of the NAPA Fall Final 150 scheduled for Sunday, October 1 at 3:15 p.m.

  1. Bobby Santos
  2. Rowan Pennink
  3. Patrick Emerling
  4. Donny Lia
  5. Justin Bonsignore
  6. Eric Goodale
  7. Ron Silk
  8. Woody Pitkat
  9. Ryan Newman
  10. Anthony Nocella
  11. Jon McKennedy
  12. Matt Swanson
  13. Ronnie Williams *
  14. Doug Coby
  15. Chase Dowling
  16. Andrew Krause
  17. Calvin Carroll *
  18. Dave Sapienza
  19. Wade Cole
  20. Melissa Fifield
  21. Rob Summers
  22. Jamie Tomaino
  23. Brendon Bock
  24. Timmy Solomito
  25. Andy Seuss
  26. Dave Salzarulo
  27. Craig Lutz
  28. Walter Sutcliffe Jr. *

Read more Short Track Scene:

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Modifieds