Connect with us

Snowball Derby

Snowball Derby entry list tops 60 cars

Alanis King

With less than a week to go until first practice for the Snowball Derby, the entry list appears nearly set.

There are currently 67 names on the preliminary entry list, but several of them have already withdrew from the event for various reasons. The most notable of them is 2014 winner John Hunter Nemechek, whom will not compete with NEMCO Motorsports actively shopping its cars on the open market.

The other notable withdrawal is Chad Finley, the hard-luck victim from last season, who recently sold his family equipment and will not make the annual trek south.

Steve Wallace recently quipped, “Why do I want to spend $30,000 to win $20,000” and also withdrew from the event. His entry was a mere formality, should he have decided to change his mind.

Daniel Hemric teased an entry back in October, but ultimately decided that he didn’t have enough time to put together a competitive entry with Carswell Motorsports.

“I saw them when we were at Phoenix and tried to see if we could make it work,” Hemric said. “It just didn’t make a lot of sense. We showed up last year last minute and was about a 15th place car. I don’t want to just show up. I want to win the Derby, and we’ll certainly be back someday, but I want to go there and be fully prepared.”

READ MORE: Why Erik Jones and Chase Elliott are not running the Snowball Derby

Meanwhile, that leaves 64 other names expected to chase the Tom Dawson Memorial Trophy next weekend.

The list now contains only four former winners in Christian Eckes, Kyle Busch, Augie Grill and Rich Bickle.

Other contenders include former Southern Super Series champions Stephen Nasse, Bubba Pollard and Donnie Wilson. NASCAR K&N East champion Harrison Burton is back as is Kyle Busch Motorsport drivers Noah Gragson and Cole Rouse.

Over 65 drivers will compete for 36 starting spots next weekend through a meticulous process that includes time trials and a last chance race. The race pays $20,000 to win, a championship ring, and the bragging rights over Snowball Derby glory.

The complete entry list can be found below and includes those who have already decided to withdraw.

  1. Anthony Cataldi
  2. Donnie Wilson
  3. Ben Rowe
  4. Kyle Plott
  5. Jerry Artuso
  6. Johnny Sauter
  7. Mason Mingus
  8. Dalton Armstrong
  9. Corey LaJoie
  10. John DeAngelis Jr
  11. John Hunter Nemechek
  12. Tate Fogleman
  13. Derek Kraus
  14. Jeff Choquette
  15. David Rogers
  16. Logan Boyett
  17. Harrison Burton
  18. Derek Griffith
  19. Chris Davidson
  20. Connor Okrzesik
  21. Christian Eckes
  22. Steven Davis
  23. Casey Roderick
  24. Noah Gragson
  25. Kason Plott
  26. Brandon McReynolds
  27. Blane Rocha
  28. Donald Crocker
  29. Bubba Pollard
  30. Chandler Smith
  31. Christian McGhee
  32. Bobby Knox Jr
  33. Stuart Dutton
  34. Tyler Dippel
  35. Dustin Smith
  36. Dan Fredrickson
  37. Chad Finley
  38. Dennis Schoenfeld
  39. Derek Thorn
  40. Rich Bickle
  41. Cole Rouse
  42. Preston Peltier
  43. Michael Atwell
  44. Kyle Busch
  45. Stephen Nasse
  46. Boris Jurkovic
  47. Cole Butcher
  48. Brandon Oakley
  49. Spencer Davis
  50. Jeff Firestine
  51. John Coffman
  52. Tyler Ankrum
  53. Garrett Evans
  54. Logan Bearden
  55. Steve Wallace
  56. Jeremy Doss
  57. Joe Aramendia
  58. Kyle Bryant
  59. Chase Purdy
  60. Grant Enfinger
  61. Garrett Jones
  62. Jeremy Pate
  63. Ty Majeski
  64. Derrick Griffin
  65. Casey Smith
  66. Raphael Lessard
  67. Augie Grill

Read more Short Track Scene:

If you like what you read here, become a Short Track Scene Patreon and support short track journalism!

Matt Weaver is the owner and founder of Short Track Scene. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He is also the associate motorsports editor of Autoweek Magazine and its website, which allows him to cover the highest levels of the sport.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




More in Snowball Derby